Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CA
    Posts
    88

    if you liked Teacher Man.....

    My Mom loves Teacher Man by Frank McCourt and she's not an avid reader, she said she wants to read another book, and I want to find one she'll like as much so she'll be encouraged to keep reading. Any thoughts? She's a teacher, which is why she wanted to get that book, and she said she likes it because it's funny. She's a little conservative, turning 60 this year and lives in the country.

  2. # ADS

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    108
    If she hasn't read the other McCourt books, she should. I have only read Angela's Ashes but I really like it. She probably would, too.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles county, CA
    Posts
    566
    If it's the Irish voice that she likes, anything by Maeve Binchy is a delight.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CA
    Posts
    88
    Thanks! Yes she likes things Irish. She also liked it because it's about a teacher and she's a teacher. So Maeve isn't too heavy? She's not a frequent reader.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles county, CA
    Posts
    566
    Not at all. She's a fast read, too, and very descriptive, light-hearted and emotional.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CA
    Posts
    88
    Great, that sounds right for her, thanks Mrs. Stroozi!

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles county, CA
    Posts
    566
    You're welcome! Binchy's very popular, and you can find her books at any bookstore, even the "vanilla" chain stores.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CA
    Posts
    88
    I read a bit about Binchy's books and chose "Evening Class" because it's aobut a teacher and students, plus set in Ireland, so I think it'll be close to what she liked about Teacher Man. Thanks again!!

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles county, CA
    Posts
    566
    OH, I was going to recommend "Evening Class!!!" It was the first Binchy I read, it's really fun AND it's about teachers and students.... I bet she'll LOVE it!

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    438
    Another quick read, although not Irish or about teachers, is the All Things Great and Small series. They were written by a real-life veterinarian about the early days of his practice int he 1930s. They're very funny and sweet (I'll never forget Mrs. Pumphrey and her overfed Pekinese), and they are not too challenging.
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/031...507846&s=books


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Help a pre school teacher out!
    By knittinator in forum Freestyle
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2006, 08:04 AM
  2. End-of-Year Teacher Gifts
    By amyr in forum Domestic Bliss
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 05:52 PM
  3. art teacher+california public school=no budget (junk wanted)
    By pickseedust in forum Share A Craft
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-12-2004, 11:20 AM