Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: pasta salad?

pasta salad?

i'm really needing good yummy foods i can make in advance and keep in the fridge for on the go. ever since i started school again, i've been slacking off eating well, which makes me feel sick and awful.

yesterday, for a picnic, i tried to make pasta salad out of microbiotic rotini, with steamed broccoli and baby carrots and cherry tomatoes, dressed with italian dressing. it was fairly good, but kind of plain. i've tried some recipes before and i can't seem to run across any good pasta salad recipes. does anybody know of any they have tried that are fairly tasty? i usually can get the bulk ingredients right, but when it comes to the sauce and the spices, i am clueless! eeep!

2. # ADS

What you made sounds good, but it would have been even better with some fresh chopped basil and freshly grated parmesan cheese. Also, using a really good dressing helps (like a nice Balsamic Vinaigrette).

I'm a college student so, naturally, I'm lazy as hell and pretty much make everything in advance and meals that I can eat for a whole week. I'm wild about fish and it just so happens that tuna is the only fish I can afford so here's my pasta salad recipe: If you don't like tuna, you obviously won't like this. Oh, and it tastes good with chicken too.
    Ingredients: any type of pasta-bowtie, macaroni, ziti, whatever-mayo/miracle whip/whatever you use for mayo, canned mixed veggies, tuna/chicken, italian dressing

Cook pasta, drain and rinse tuna/chicken, drain mixed veggies. Dump it all into a big tupperware. Add mayo/miracle whip until it's evenly distributed. I don't usually use measurements but some people like their salads mayo-y. Add the italian dressing until it's as tangy as you want it. Cool before you serve it.

Hey, I know it probably sounds kinda nasty but it's great. I hear you can add lemon to keep it from browning. I've eaten it after it's been in the fridge for a couple days and not gotten sick.