sprouting/live foods

This is my first time to visit consuming pleasures...I think I've been missing out! :)
    So I hope I'm not repeating a topic--if I am maybe someone can tell me where the thread is....
    I'm wondering if anyone sprouts? And if so, do you have any favorite recipes. I tried this 3 years ago and then got distracted or actually, I think I got engaged. Anyway, I didn't last long at all. But my husband and I are interested in trying this out. He usually does almost all of the cooking since that's what he does professionally--lucky me, eh?! I think I could really enjoy the non-cooking of live foods though. And I thought it'd be fun if I suprised him with something for a change. I started sprouting black beans and garbanzos today.
    Thanks to anyone who has some feedback! :)

2. # ADS

Hiya! I almost always have something sprouting in my kitchen, usually, some mix of alfalfa/ clove/ radish that the old man orders from sproutpeople.com

I'm no fan of sprouted beans. I find they taste a little funky and never digest well. But lots of people thrive on them. Check out rawfoods.com for recipes....

Sprouted quinoa makes a great tabouli for the gluten free folks in the house... and sprouted almonds are easier to chew and very tasty compared to their non-raw couterparts.

I have played with raw foods for years now, and find them just slightly lacking... very good and health-restoring, but I can't seem to maintain it for more than a few months before I'm craving rice and green beans...

thanks kissmyknitz! that's cool that you've been at it for so long. those are actually the 2 sites that I found when searching. i'll explore them further.
    i used to have a friend who made "chili" and hummus from her sprouted beans so I guess that 's why I started with that. i'm going to try it all though! :)

Quote Originally Posted by kissmyknitz
    and sprouted almonds are easier to chew and very tasty compared to their non-raw couterparts.