shouldn't my azaleas be blooming?

remarkably, i have kept a pot of azaleas alive for over a year. (never before has a blooming plant survived in my hands much longer than the blooms last.) but shouldn't they be blooming now? do they hibernate? am i stunting them by keeping them inside? i was thinking that perhaps the original blooms were forced and just to wait it out, but there's not even any buds on the plant. am i doing something wrong?

2. # ADS

I would think they should be blooming, my mom has a huge azalea bush outside and it started blooming about a month ago maybe, it's done now. As long as it's not too cold and you have them in the right light I don't know why being inside would be any different.

I'm not too good with living plants, I'm only good with cut flowers....maybe it needs a bigger pot? repotted? fertilizer/plant food?

My azaleas just started to bloom a few days ago. Whats the weather like where you are? Maybe that has something to do with it? I 've never had them inside either. Maybe that's why?

I didn't even think about location. We're in south-western indiana, it's been hot and cold off and on for the past 3 months, it seems like it got warm really early this year too. Maybe if you're farther north your azaleas will bloom later than ours did.

We get azaleas in at work, they're not the hardy kind so I don't know if that makes a difference....but some of them come w/out blooms on them and they eventually do bloom. Some also produce more buds while in our shop...they're not outside. But then, they're not the hardy kind either, so I don't know how big of a difference that will make with their ability to bloom inside.