Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Pregnant and Feeling a Bit Down

Has anyone else felt a bit down at some point or another during their pregnancy/ies?

Don't misunderstand, I am completely overjoyed and excited about the upcoming birth of my baby, as is my husband. I don't think I am in any way a candidate for pre or post natal depression, it's just that for the last couple of weeks I've felt a bit blah and down. A bit weepy. I've felt a bit clingy towards my husband too, and worried about him.

Of course, there are lots of physical reasons which I think contribute to feeling this way: I'm not sleeping well, my feet are swollen and sore, I'm at the point where I feel really cumbersome and heavy and it has been sooo hot and humid where I live. My brain feels incredibly alive and active, and therefore bored, because my body is so easily tired.

I've finished work (it's school holidays here and I'm a teacher) and I have plenty of ideas of things I want to do but everything is such an...effort. I feel like I can't do anything. I go out to the shops, or to see a friend and when I get home I feel like I need a rest!

On top of this I feel guilty every time I have a negative thought because I'm so happy to be pregnant! I feel like I shouldn't be ungrateful. (I know how silly this sounds)

Here's how I'd like you to respond: "Pudding, this is just something many pregnant women go through, it's completely natural and will pass. Of course you're allowed to complain a bit! Here are some great ideas for things you can do to entertain yourself for the next few weeks...." ;-)

My gut feeling is that this is all very normal and I think I just need a bit of empathy! Thanks for letting me type all that out, I already feel a bit better!

2. # ADS

Pudding - This is completely normal and I'm sure most mothers here have gone through similar things. First of all, never underestimate the effect of a bad night's sleep! And then there are all the other uncomfortable things...