Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Problems with an ADD student

I tutor on the side. One of my students (I have three) suffers from ADD and mild brain damage. He's 12. I've been tutoring him for close to two years now, and we've seen an improvment in his spelling and math. The problem is this. He lives with his mother, who is perpetually busy. She runs a local store. Hus father lives downstairs from him and his mother- he does occasional construction, and usually picks the kid up from school and drops him off at the library on tutoring days. Mom is the one who pays me.

From my teaching experience and reading about ADD and other learning disabilities, I've seen that children with these problems need consistency and discipline. This kid gets very little of it. He's not expected to earn his allowance. He's not encouraged to buy presents for family members, even though he has money saved, and during the holiday, no one took him holiday shopping to teach him how to think about other people. The plibrarians where we study think he's very rude- he rarely says 'excuse me', 'please' or 'thank you' unless I prompt him. His parents haven't taught him how to cook, clean or sew- and his mother is a clothing maker and designer! His father does give him some disicpline, but the two parents disagree onthe proper way to raise him, and talk about that in front of him. Both parents will talk to me separately in front of the boy about how the other one isn't doing a great job.