Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

what your favorite vacuum?

Thought this would be the best place to find any advice.:) I'm looking into buying a new vacuum! My mom has always bought them for me as gifts in the past, this is my first time to purchase one myself. I am looking at small, bagless, uprights. We live in a small (500 sq. ft.) one bedroom apartment with our two cats. Most of our flooring is hardwood, linolium, and tile...we have one 4x6 rug.
    I was wondering if anyone has any one that is their favorite or ones to steer clear of. We really don't want to spend too much, around $40 or less if possible. Any advice would be much appreciated. I've been reading reviews on-line but wanted to hear thoughts from you crafties:)

2. # ADS

I love my bissell carpet cleaner. It's nonelectric, run it over the carpet or floor and it picks up just about everything. (Make sure to empty it and clean the brushes.) We have what you have, mostly floor and one small carpet. I bought it about 2 months ago for about 35 bucks at Smart & Final, our local restaurant and janitorial supply store.

For the rest of hard flooring I'd say invest in a Swiffer along with a decent broom and dustpan/brush combo.

had a eureka bagless upright with hose attachment & hepa filter that i liked a lot. came from costco so it had a bonus dustbuster thingie that i never really used, too.

and then i would suck up some cotton balls with essential oils on them so the hot air coming out would smell just lovely.

Quote Originally Posted by sarabell
    and then i would suck up some cotton balls with essential oils on them so the hot air coming out would smell just lovely.
    That's a really good idea.

So far the best vacuum I've ever used was a Miele. But it was not upright, it used a bag, and it probably cost well over $40.

ti
    how about people with allergies? what vacuum would you use? or what vacuum seems to work well in general?