Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

having.."The Talk"

I need to have "The Talk" with my son, who is almost 12.. he pretty much understands that sperm meets egg... but I want to talk about the things that really matter, like waiting til ready, like giving yourself permission and not making sex ugly or guilt ridden, treating women and yourself with respect, etc etc.. so much to cover!

Can anyone recommend any good books or anything to help me? I started an outline to help me keep track of things I want to cover, but I didn't think it would be this soon! He tells me how he has a girlfriend, and I blew it off and then I saw them holding hands at his football game! (they are in 6th grade).

I don't want to pull out the Ol' Our Bodies, Our Selves charts and pictures but he is curious about how babies are born and I think he deserves to know....he is my only son and I have never done this before... any advice?

2. # ADS

I just want to applaud you for doing it... many parents don't, which seems crazy to me. Other than that, I have no advice because I haven't been in your shoes. Good luck! :-)

Go to your local Planned Parenthood and ask for any and all brochures! Good luck and how great that you are being proactive about your son learning about sex from you and not on the school bus!

BTDT....also mom of a 12 yo boy. Our chat was last year when obvious he and his friends were discussing "things". Not keen on him learning wacky(IMHO) attitudes/ideas from friends' parents. ICK!!!

Be honest with your son re: your values and ideas re: sexuality. Reinforce that "others' may have different values, and that's ok, but these are our values and why...." Sperm-> egg is the easy part.

Don't forget contraception. It's information all sexually responsible teens need whether sexually active or practicing abstinance. Information is not a license to practice.