Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

co-dependent kitty

It's very late so this may not make much sense but I gotta rant...

I love my cat very much and would not trade her for anything. I found her outside the cafeteria of my elementary school...when I was a student there! I've had her for 14 years now. She's amazingly loving and has the temperment of a lap dog rather than a cat.

Okay, she's actually obsessed with me and my fiance. Like every single minute that we are home she has to be sitting in one of our laps. She also likes to lick us as if she is bathing us. It drives me nuts. If we are busy (and yes, I even mean that kind of busy;) she will circle us and meow LOUD till we acknowledge her. She also likes to "scream" at me when I'm talking on the phone and will jump in my lap and try to headbutt the phone away from me. She's been like this for forever. Once I made a sling so I could carry her around while doing housework becuase she kept following me around and was tripping over her. She didn't like the sling...but sometimes I end up carrying her in one arm while trying to clean with the other because she's never happy unless she can snuggle up against me.

Lately, it's been a little worse becuase we moved to a new house and she is having a hard time adjusting. I have problems breathing when she sleeps in the bed and the house has too many things she could get into, so I tried locking her in her room (a spare bedroom that has all her food, litter, and toys in it) at night. She cried and scratched at the door and it sounded so heartbreaking that I let her out and let her sleep in the bed. Now she is back to sleeping on my chest and will start licking my face right as I fall asleep. I wake up and tell her to stop and she does and then when I'm falling asleep again she'll start kneading my boobs with her paws and I tell her to stop and so on and so forth tell I finally just pass out.