Need help on how to make this hat

Hi I'm new to crafting .. Actually I have no experience..I would like to make this hat for an on coming Kentucky Derbies style horse race event. Does anyone has any suggestion on what to use? How to do the pattern etc?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Need help on how to make this hat-image.jpg  

2. # ADS

Hi, I have no idea how active this board is anymore. It's been years since I've checked in.

Hat making is not for the faint of heart. Understand that the foundation for the hat is important. I'm not talking about finesse: just simple physics. How do you expect to keep the hat on your head, to grip your head, to keep from sliding, to support the butterfly, and all with minimal and unobtrusive foundation.

Let's say you use an alice band, maybe a cushioned and wider alice band covered in satin in your hair color. You should probably line it with some skid proof foam or tiny teeth to grip your hair. Then, the size, weight, and material of the butterfly wings will demand a base to sit on. So, a quilted oval of some stiffer fabric covered by satin again, and stitched to the alice band.

The butterfly wings might best be constructed with craft foam, which you can buy in sheets and in different colors at craft stores. Sketch out your idea of the butterfly, then make your pattern from tissue or whatever you are comfortable using. This pattern will be the size of your hat butterfly. You could freehand the whole thing, but you will do better to draw one side and then copy that in reverse for the other. The photo shows basically four wings, which gives added depth and movement to the hat. You don't necessarily need to do that.