Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

crossing a picket line

Hi everyone, I need some wise craftista advice!

The professors at my school are most likely going to go on strike next week. I completely support their reasons for striking (heavy classloads, hiring of adjunct faculty w/o benefits, administrative incompetence, etc. etc.) and there is no way that I would consider crossing the picket line to go class.

However, the instructor for the one class I'm taking this semester is an adjunct and he is planning on holding class off-campus as he won't cross the line either but wants to still make instruction available for those who want to attend. He hasn't been very clear on how not attending will affect our grades. The class is ethnobotany and I really, really dig it.

Now, I'm just in school for fun & health insurance. I already have my BA and I work as a freelancer, so the insurance is the biggest reason I'm taking classes as this was the only way I could find decent coverage that was affordable & also offered mental health benefits. I'm also planning on starting my MLS next fall, so I thought this would be a good way to get back in the academic saddle. Thus, this class isn't a big deal to me outside of personal interest as my health insurance coverage will continue regardless.

I have pretty strong emotions regarding unions -- my grandfather helped organize the GM sit-down strike that resulted in the formation of the UAW and I see a strong connection between the power of unions and my own relatively comfortable standard of living. Having grown up in the metro Detroit area, I can see this tranformation in the families of many of my friends as well. So, while unions have certainly changed since their heyday (and not necessarily for the benefit of the worker), I still wholeheartedly support workers' rights to organize and strike.