Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Internet Safety and Personal Information

Just curious what others think about posting personal information on some of the mail trading sites or giving out your address for swaps. Do you have any personal experience with people abusing your information/trust?
    I'm new at all this internet stuff and am feeling a little hesitant to share my personal information. Thanks.

2. # ADS

Basic suggestions:
    -don't give out your real name
    -don't reveal personal information, especially about your family, friends and workplace
    -consider that every comment you make on here is essentially like talking to a stranger on the bus
    -google yourself, you might be surprised

yes! be careful what information you give out on here. or livejournal, or any other message type boards.

I understand that it is easy to feel very comfortable in these situations but you have to remember 1. not every one who reads it is a good person 2. even the people you think are good people can turn out to be rotten and evil and 3. other people are reading it that you don't even have any ideas about!

I have googled my name and I have also googled my address, just to be on the safe side.

Recently I saw something on a live journal of someone that I do not know..they asked their friends for their addresses and they all posted them, complete with first and last name. Scary scary stuff.

tangent- slinkster! i had no idea you were...you!
    i get so confused with the different identities on this board and glitter. i never know who i'm talking to over here.

Quote Originally Posted by honeybee
    tangent- slinkster! i had no idea you were...you!
    i get so confused with the different identities on this board and glitter. i never know who i'm talking to over here.
    cause I am slinky like that...

Quote Originally Posted by Slinkster