Anyone work with their SO?

OK, here's the deal: I am a high school librarian. My boyfriend is currently a retail manager but wants to teach social studies - he is certified and everything. There is going to be at least one social studies opening at my school next year, and I told him to apply, but we both kind of have mixed feelings about the possibility of working together. Is anyone else in a similar situation? Is it just too much togetherness to work with someone you live with, or is it cool? We wouldn't really be seeing each other much during the day, but, I don't know, the proximity still might be weird. Any thoughts, craftistas?

Alison

2. # ADS

At my campus, the registrar and one of the professors are married. I think it works because they maintain professional distance. Except for the sometimes calls placed, that end in things like, "Yes, so you might want to check on that course listing, it appears to be incorrect. Bye, sweetheart."

At my high school, we'd had a few married couples, and that had worked out fine. They were a little less professional, but they seemed to enjoy themselves. And these would be people just a hall from one another. I'm guessing there's enough physical distance from the library to most of the classrooms?

i think it completely depends on the couple. i used to work in the same co-op as my then-so, plus we lived together and went went to the same school together, all the same classes. we were inseperable to the point of codependency, but we were fine with it.

on the other hand, my husband and i have tried to share a few aspects of his work- i would take over some of the paperwork/accounting for his business...we wouldn't see each other any more often, but since we both seem to have authority issues, we have yet to be able to really share his business this way without fighting.

what parts of the situation do you each feel uncomfortable or hesitant about?

Quote Originally Posted by honeybee