Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: What's the Difference between Artist and Crafter?

What's the Difference between Artist and Crafter?

Puzzling through this one, and thought I'd ask the Creatives at GetCrafty.

I formally studied art at University and have 1/2 a BFA, but it's only recently I've identified and embraced "Artist".Why? I don't have a good answer, for myself, except that "Artist" has so many connotations and expectations attached to it.

What's the diference between Artist and Crafter? Which are You? Why?

2. # ADS

I call myself a crafter because I mostly make things, but don't design them. I crochet from patterns and get ideas for my daughter's crafts online and in books. To be an artist, I think one has to be original in their designs. Just my opinion, though! (don't want to be offending anyone)

I think -- I'm both -- I'm a Designer by profession and a Crafter by choice.

I do however design what I craft :) because there are so many ways to solve a problem -- I can't for a moment believe that everything has been done already.

Historically, only men were Artists. I recently read the book The Subversive Stitch: Embroidery and the Making of the Feminine. If I remember correctly, it describes how embroidery became an "occupation" at a time when it became fasionalbe to have embroidered clothes, linens, etc. At that time, the males wished to exclude themselves from women and ensure that only they could obtain profitability. They therefore defined themselves as "artists" and became a guild; they were the only ones officially allowed to sell their embroidery for money. Women embroiderers were limited to doing so for their own enjoyment, but not for profit.