Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

student loan insanity

so, i graduated in december, and now have a pretty well-paying job. this past week i started receiving invoices for my loans and am having a freak out. my sallie mae is almost as high as my yearly salary, and my (i think?) stafford is crazy as well. all in all i will have to pay back almost $65,000.

naturally, my head is about to explode. i want to be a responsible adult, and pay it back every month, on time. but if i did, it would be about $600 a month for the next 8000 years.

which leads me to my questions: has anyone here had to deal with this? and if so, how? can you recommend a good consolidation service, or am i destined to have lousy credit and be in debt my entire life? should i start playing mega-millions? wah!

2. # ADS

oh wow.

This might sound nuts, but I'm SO glad your loan debt was really high, if only because I'm getting tired of hearing people whine abou the 8,000 they might have to pay back. My loans will probably be in the 40,000 range by the time I'm out. I don't know. This is what I keep reminding myself: these are made so that you can pay them back, and they're pretty good about not being cruel to you.

Well, I don't know what to say. It's not like it's credit card debt. It's student loan debt, and as long as you're not living beyond your means, you won't have to worry that much about your payments. (Remember, half of what I'm rambling here is to make myself feel better. )

If anything, four years, I'll be happy to complain with you! Right now, I'm trying not to think about it.