Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Crafters Coast to Coast

I considered applying to Coast to Coast on HGTV. I am so glad I didn't. What a great show that could have been. As an artist, I am interested in seeing how other artists work and what they use as inspiration and technique. How sad that the people who created and produced this show have no idea about their target audience. I view it as the art version of the "reality" shows. They pay no one and make a fortune off embarrasing other people.

To the Producers: You will find that serious artists will not be on your show. Please call it what it is: A comedy show that personifies a negative stereotype.

2. # ADS

What brought this on?

I'm just curious...

Crafters Coast to Coast

I have been in art my entire life. I have always had to overcome the preconceived idea of artists being "strange" and "weird". Yes we look at the world a different way than the average person, but so does a composer, an engineer and every other profession. That is what makes each of us good at what we do. When I first watched the show, I was expecting something along the lines of Carol Duval in that her show had a beautiful segment each week on a serious craftsman. That segment showed respect for the artist and the work they did. Not once did I see an artist jump on their bed or cross their eyes while makeing a "funny" face. The people that produce "Get Crafty", in my opinion, have no real knowledge or respect for the artists they portray. I know a hundred artists and not once have I seen them act that way. Yet I have heard non-artists talking about that show and how weird artists are. It saddens me to think that people are out there making money while taking advantage of others that do not know better. Why do you ask?

What bugs me the most is that the host isn't even a crafter. She's just a host for HGTV.

I agree. It's very disappointing that this is the only way crafters and artists have to be seen and they are portrayed as "wacky"