Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New bunny!

New bunny!

My boyfriend just bought me a rabbit for our anniversary. I love her to pieces, but I don't know much about rabbit care and was wondering if any fellow bunny-havers could give me advice.

2. # ADS

I don't have a rabbit--just a bearded dragon and fourteen tarantulas--but when I was a newbie spider-keeper I just Googled "tarantula care" and got more information than I could handle. You should be able to do the same for bunnies.

I second Spider-lady's advice. I actually did that for a wild bunny we found that got separated from it's home and found oodles of information.

Share pictures! I adore bunnies!

http://www.rabbit.org/ has a lot of info on bunny care. The biggest problem we had was the water bottle. The water bottles that you screw off the spout to fill up always leak. We bought on that fills from the other end and it has never leaked. Clip toe nails every so often. Their teeth continuous grow so get something for them to chew on. You can usually find flavored wood blocks in the pet section. Our rabbit loves to chew on card board and throw things. I buy her bird toys that she can throw and sisel mice (cat toys) for her to play with.

Thanks for the link--it was very helpful. I just gave her some cardboard to chew on and a little box with a blanket I never got around to finishing that she can lie down in and I'm going to give her a few toys that my cat never plays with. :) I'll have pictures in a couple of days!

I had one growing up. They love alfalfa. I find that they are a lot like birds in a sense because if you don't hold them often they get annoyed when you do. I knew someone who had a rabbit that roamed the house like a cat. They trained it to go in a litter box...I don't know how!