Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How do you define *craft*?

hello!

i am new to this forum and am posting because i wanted to get a sense of how do you, crafters, define *craft* and what types of activities you think fall under the definition.

i mean, embroidery and cross stitch is craft to me, but do you think it could also include baking? what about binding a book, by hand, but the content was produced on the computer? can computer designs be considered *crafty*? does technology fit into it, in your opinion?

the reason i ask is i am doing my thesis proposal on the subversive nature of craftmaking, how it is a revolutionary act in current times (revolutionary and subversive in that you are shunning the current system of consumerism to acquire things you need, not buying but making them instead.)

any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! i figured this would be a good place to check in for my research.

thank you in advance and have a great weekend!

-tina

2. # ADS

I think of crafting as simply the art or skill of making something. i believe this includes computer generated items, cooking and baking, carving, crocheting, collage, building a canoe, restructuring clothing, dyeing fabric, etc. i also think fine arts and crafts overlap. although, i generally think of crafts as art work that is functional. for example a ceramic bowl thrown on a wheel as opposed to a sculpture or a quilt as opposed to a photograph. i was a fine art photo major who was always drawn to making functional objects. crafting had more than a bit of a stigma in a fine art institution, but i always found more depth and expression in craft work.

I think you're right, tootsiecat! You pretty much hit the nail on the head (ALSO A CRAFT!!! haha).

I guess it's all in the context of the word. If someone says, "I'm doing crafts!", then usually it's associated with something like knitting and sewing, etc.