Thread: Grant Writing

Grant Writing

I am thinking about getting into grant writing.
    Does anyone have any experience in this? Any good books to suggest? I would like to look at a book before I look into a class...

I should probably mention that I refuse to read a book that is for idiots or dummies... I just cannot do it.

Any help is appreciated!

~Q

2. # ADS

I used to be a grant writer and was eventually promoted to grant management. I did this for many years. It's been awhile (4 years) since I left that field, but if you have any specific questions I could probably still answer them. I didn't learn from a book and I never took a class, just got an entry-level job and worked my way up (it was my first job out of college).

From my point of view, far more important than anything they'd teach you in a grant writing class/book are
    1) basic writing skills
    2) attention to detail
    3) ability to understand what's behind a question (ie, why a funder wants to know particular things)

With those basic things, you can be an excellent grant writer; without them not so much.

The other thing that can really make a difference is whether you want to work as a free-lance grant writer, part of a fundraising department for an organization, part of a fundraising consultant firm, or part of a program-implementation department. For the first three, you won't be directly implementing the grant, and the skills you'll need (getting information, working with the program implementor) can be a lot different than if you're both soliciting and implementing the grant.

I guess I should also say that I don't know about other managers, but when I was hiring for positions in my department, I looked for 1) experience in the field (for higher-level positions) and 2) transferable skills (for entry-level positions). People who listed a class or two on their resume but didn't have those other criteria were not generally people I called in for interviews.