Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

High School Graduation Gifts

I happen to know a few girls who are getting ready to graduate from high school. I've just received my second invitation today.

Two questions:

1) For cash - what's the going rate these days? I'm sure that when I graduated (nearly 25 years ago!!!), I got $20 from most people who gave cash.

2) What is a special keepsake that would be appropriate for my two sweet nieces that I love?

Thanks!

2. # ADS

Hmmm... I just went through this with my sweet niece who is graduating from the 8th grade. So, not quite the same, since she is younger, but still my niece I love graduating.
    One thing is that you probably know these girls better than most people that will be bringing them gifts...So, you have the upper hand there;) Think of them and what the love to do, how they are celebrating their graduations. For example, my niece is sporty, preppy and girlie and having a pool party/BBQ to celebrate. We got her a Roxy polo(preppy and sporty), white dangle earrings(for the girlie side) and a new nice big beach towel(for her party and lots of summer use by the pool). We found everything at least 1/2 off, but it looks expensive and impressive all packaged up.
    Next ideas...
    1. A small scrap book, with some photos corners and cool markers. They can document their summer before college with their friends or that 1st year of college. Maybe even a throw away camera to go with it if they don't already have a camera.
    2. Do you sew? Or possibly etsy purchases... cool totes of some sort for carrying books around campus.
    3. Misc. stuff that may be needed by a 1st year college student, stuff they may not think of before going off to school. A toaster oven if allowed, recipes for making stuff in it. Shower caddy, soaps, thongs or flip flops. Flip flops are a must in those showers everybody uses!
    You may also talk to the moms and see if there has been anything asked for or needed.