Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Life Skills

Life Skills

I am a high school art teacher, and our school does this thing called "Interim Term". During Interim term, students take classes or trips that help further their education... but it is usually something that they can not learn in a typical classroom setting. I am teaching a one week class on life skills - things you wish you knew when you went to college but didn't (for example: how to change a tire, etc). I need some help coming up with some ideas of things that I can do at a school (a private school in the middle of Downtown Dallas) that don't require a lot of expense or supplies (some supplies are ok!). I will be teaching five 2 hour long sessions, so, I was thinking about doing something different every day. Any ideas would be great!

2. # ADS

In a crafty vein, repair and maintenance of clothing, shoes and other personal effects. An amazing number of people young and old do not know how to thread a needle let alone what to do with it. They don't know how to remove stains or shorten hems or change out buttons. Polishing shoes or getting rid of scuff marks, how to hand wash things that need blocking.

A big thing that young people don't always learn is maintaining a check book or that sort of financial bit.

How to plan a party maybe. Depends on the group I suppose. I've had many adults ask me how I figure out what to have and when or how to handle invitations.

There are a lot of things crafty people take for granted that others don't seem to know.

All good ideas...
    There is another teacher doing a financial class, such as balancing a checkbook and whatnot, and I was considering doing a laundry day - how to sort and do your laundry, remove stains, iron and fix a button or something like that. I guess I should have said MY ideas, and then build on that.

-Car maintenance - when to have your oil changed, how to check and make sure your fluids are all filled, how to change a tire, etc.