French Knot Help S'il vous plaît

I hope someone can help me. I am new to the world of embroidery and having a lot of fun learning and practicing new stitches. I am having difficulty mastering the french knot. I've followed several different step by step guides, and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Every time I try to make the knot my needle and floss simply slip through the fabric, with no knot left behind. Help! I hope someone has some tips....or maybe I just need to practice more?

2. # ADS

This is hard to describe in words, but what I try to do is hold my thumb over it and that helps it not pull through. Also double wrapping around the thread can make it bigger which can help.

french knots are the worst- I threw my crewel embroidery across the room after trying time and time again to get it right. I remember hating them when I was a kid, and decided to try and forget about my bad experiences and start with new optimism- I just suck at french knots and have decided never again...

It depends on the weave of the fabric, and the amount of floss or thread you are using.

Kindarana's description is good. I double wrap close to the tip of the needle on top of the fabric. Wherever my needle came up through the fabric, I try to move it off just a bit for going down and through. Wider weaves like linen and aida, you more or less have to split fibers in the warp or weft to secure the french knot.

Do not pull tight. A lot of hand embroidery problems would be solved if you relax your tension a bit.