Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Can anyone recommend a good sewing machine?

Hey,

I'm totally new to sewing and I've been talking about getting my own machine for a long time. I intend to explore the layaway option and, if all goes well, buy one this weekend. Thing is...I've done a lot of research but want to be sure I'm choosing the right machine. I think I've decided on the Singer Deluxe Free-Arm sewing machine 5040. Can anyone share her experiences buying/using this machine. Or, if not, recommend one. I want something very easy to learn on but also something to grow on. I'd like it to last me a couple of years...or forever, if possible! :) Embroidery would be a nice feature...someone said to get a button-holer...and that it can be a real pain if you have to re-thread the needle a lot. I want to be able to have a machine that is easy to find parts and supplies for. I'd like to use it to make clothes, handbags, duvet covers, curtains...the usual. And I want it to work with soft materials as well as really coarse (i.e. denim). Am I asking too much? Does this dream machine exist? I expect to demo before I buy but any advice would be so helpful as I obviously don't know thing one about purchasing a sewing machine!
    THANKS!

2. # ADS

Hi Karla,

Excuse me if i'm out of line jumping in, since this is my first post.

I had a Singer 5040 for about 2yrs, with maybe once or twice a month use until about 2 months ago the every other day use and it's motor gave out Sunday. Right after I started working on a quilt for my mom who is coming this weekend.

I bought a new Janome 659? Monday. It seems to have a much stronger motor. BUt i haven't had it long enough to give a good description.

hope this helps

Karla,