has anyone ever made a cigar box purse? :)

Hello!

I was at the craft store and I got inspired and decided to make a cigar box purse. They had great handles and I have a large cigar box at home.

Has anyone else made these? Does anyone have any tips or suggestions? I've never done this before and I'd actually like to use it as a purse if I could. :)

Abigail

2. # ADS

*bump*
    Good question!! I just started my own and need tips on putting the handle on the box without destroying the box (I'm good at destroying stuff :P) and what kind of clasp is best for this.

Hi Titanica,

These are fun to make - like you I've made the box part. I need to add the handle and the clasp now - but I'm not very mechanical and wanted to know if there was anything I needed to know about it.

I got my purse handle and clasp from a company called Out Of The Box Purses - they make them for people making cigar box purses. The website address on the back of the label here says www.nicolecrafts.com.

What does yours look like? I made two. One is gold with yellow piping and has sunflowers decoupaged on it and inspirational sayings and words decoupaged on it. The other is a mermaid purse (I'm a Pisces). It has two mermaids (from a card I found) on it, and then pink and purple ribbon curled around the card, with seashells at all 4 corners. The box is gold with purple ribbon all the way around it, and dark green on the sides. :) Now I need to carry a purse in each hand!

What does yours look like so far? :)

Abigail

one thing i found is that the handles they sell in the store - the screw on parts - are often too long for the thickness of the box. get some washers so you can make them go on snugly. hope that made sense!

Abigail, so far mine has pages from a japanese book on each side...Torn up, like I would have done with newspaper. It's older, so the pages are kind of yellow...I love how it looks. It makes the paper match the boxe a bit better. :)