Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

sewing machine????

Hi! I am totally new to sewing/crafting but am v. interested. Up until now I've been sewing by hand and think it's time for the next step so I've asked for a machine for Christmas but don't know what model would be best.... What I'm hoping for is some advice on a good, entry level sewing machine--nothing too fancy as it would probably be beyond me--that can sew lots of different fabrics incl. vinyl, denim etc., and is not outrageously expensive. Does such a thing exist? Any help would be much appreciated!!

2. # ADS

I was just about to post on the same topic, except I'm contemplating a $700 brother quilting machine. Anyone used brother machines?

For an easy, entry level machine, I'd probably pick one up at costco. They have some for $200 or under, and they have everything you seem to be looking for.

You can also find used models on craigslist or sewing machine shops, but it can be frustrating to have a machine with funky, vintage quirks. I have 4 old machines, and they've served me well with sewing halloween costumes and some projects, but they frustrate me now because everything is breaking and repairs are difficult because they are so old.

Janome gem is supposed to be really nice; a few women in the quilt shop got them for their daughters, and they passed the workhorse test from one of the quilters. Husquevarna (sp?) is also a good brand. My friend is coveting a bernina or an elna; I forget which.

the brother I'm looking at is comparable to an elna that's twice it's price at the shop, and they've told me it's sturdy.

I have whatever the Sears brand of sewing machine is, and it's been an awesome beginner's machine. The only thing it doesn't do that I wish it gave me more help on is buttonholes. And I've found that as long as I'm diligent about using the right needles for my fabric, I've had no problems sewing through a variety of things, including a couple layers of denim.