Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Cheap Xmas party ideas

I'm a poor college student, trying to throw a classy holiday party, and i could use some help!

so far the plan is:

paper snowflakes hung over the front door like a fringe, xmas lights on the ceiling, holiday cookies, cheap liquor, and the tradition yule log movie on the tv... any other ideas? so far it isn't really enough to make a holiday statement...

2. # ADS

we are making snowflakes for my friends party from white pipecleaners to throw around the tables and and trow on the tree. take about 5 pipecleaners, cut in half, wrap one of the pipecleaners around the center of the bunch and bend out the rest form the center. simple and only 2.99 for a package of 100 chenile pipecleaners.

Pipecleaners are the BEST. I use them for whatever whenever I can get away with it.

I take a bundle of metallic pipecleaners, wrap each around a pencil with the loops close together, take them off the pencil, pull them gently to open the loops, bend slightly in the middle, and throw them onto a big bowl of tangerines. Or apples. They look terrific, very festive. Easy to clean up, too.

Think red, green, gold. Those thick paper tableclothes you can get at restaurant supply stores or party stores. Scatter gold or silver snowflakes on them, or even curlicued gold or silver pipe cleaners. Nice colored paper napkins.

When I was in college we had the kind of ceiling tile you could actually staple into, and my roommate and I stapled strands of tinsel up there. It looked great.

You could make a playlist of Christmas songs (old and new) and have it play through the party.

I'd also suggest candles, but maybe that's a bad combination with cheap liquor. :)

how about the old trick of wrapping pictures on the walls to make them look like packages.

i think a cheesy gift exchange is fun; like bring a true, useless white elephant gift.

decorating cookies or graham cracker gingerbread houses can be fun (but messy).