Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

lay-out software for zines etc?

I'm wondering if anyone can suggest good software for laying out both text and image on the computer like a zine/book-- preferrably not too scary to learn to use, and not too expensive. that sounds like a lot to ask, I think! has anyone tried "microsoft publisher"? i think it came free on my computer and I haven't had the patience to play around with it-- any thoughts?

2. # ADS

I love this, and it's free! I use it to layout CROQ:

http://freeserifsoftware.com/ - It's the Page Plus program, and it's awesome.

I've been doing newspaper lay-out and design for a few years now, and I think that it's worth it to use professional software - it's really isn't that hard to learn and you'll be a lot happier with the results.

MS Publisher is the devil, in my opinion. It may be easier to use at first, but you're going to be restricted in what the program can do for you - particularly if you want to lay out a zine, which doesn't alway use standard newspaper formatting. In the time you'll curse Publisher, you can learn how to use better software. Other stuff to consider: Publisher may have problems with files that originated on a Mac.

Adobe InDesign is the industry standard in North America right now. Once you understand the basics (how to import a graphic, how to add text, etc), the rest is easy. There are lots of tutorials online to guide you through it. You can buy InDesign with Photoshop and a few other programs in the Adobe Creative Suite. Creative Suite is expensive, but you can download a 30-day free trial of InDesign free HERE.

I recommend InDesign - it's fairly intuitive to use and you can try it out for free!