Thread: Acrylic Bikini

Acrylic Bikini

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to this site.. i'm looking for a pattern for a bikini.. i know there's some already on the website and i've looked at them but i need a pattern for acrylic yarn.

i have the yarn picked up and i really love it and want to make 5 bikini tops for me and my girlfriends to wear at a music festival together. It glows in the black light:D

I'm just new to knitting .. baby knitter.. so i don't really know how to change a pattern from cotton to arcylic.. and what size of needle to use..

HELP! thanks so much :D

2. # ADS

A more experienced knitter than I may need to weigh in here, but...it is my understanding that you can substitute materials as you like. Cotton v. acrylic v. wool v. blends shouldn't impact the look of the outcome. If the yarns are of the same weight, thickness, etc. you should be okay.

Knit a swatch with your yarn and see if it matches the guage they recommend. Too big - substitute smaller needles. Too small - get bigger needles.

Having said all of that, I think you would need to be concerned about material if you wanted to do bathing suit things. I have no idea what would happen if you jumped in the pool in an acrylic bikini - but you should be good at a concert. Black light yarn sounds awesome.

I'm not sure what the weight of it is.. i bought it at a garage sale. but it looks like normal acrylic.. lol.. i'm pretty sure there's different types but they all look the same to me.. i'm sorry. i wish i knew more info about it.

all the help i can get is awsome..

craftfetish, you're right -- as long as the yarn is the same guage as the yarn called for in the pattern it should be fine.