I need advice on buying a serger!

I'm throwing around the idea of buying a serger. I need help A) asessing whether or not I actually NEED it B) choosing a brand/model and C)finding the best price possible.

I mainly want to use it to make cloth diapers and slings. I've made both successfully with my regular sewing machine but I feel that a serger would make the diapers go faster and look cleaner.
    Any ideas or input? I'm new to the serger so clue me in please!

2. # ADS

Hi!

Do you live near a sewing machine retailer? Many stores combine sewing machine and vacuum cleaner sales and repair. I recommend going to a local retailer for assistance. They are obviously going to show you what they sell, but then if you need a repair, you are going to have someone local who can actually fix it. Not all repair shops are authorized to fix every brand, and if you are in AK, it will be very pricey to ship back to a manufacturer for a repair or tune-up.

Personally, I love the Baby Lock brands (www.babylock.com). You can search for local retailers on their website. They have an excellent warranty program, and oftentimes have free giveaways when you buy a new machine! Fortunately, I have a Baby Lock retailer only 10 minutes away. Buy the most versatile model you can afford--you WON'T regret it! Baby Lock also does financing on their machines, 0% for 24 months--pretty cool, eh? (geesh, I sound like a commercial!)

A serger will definitely make your sewing life easier, especially with baby items. Just make sure that you tie off your ends, snip them, and put a dot of fray check on them so they don't unravel and tangle around a baby's little finger or toe.

Okay--sorry! I'll shut up now! I hope this helps!

Take care,
    Susan

I'm bumping this up because i'm thinking about asking for a serger for christmas (ok, maybe christmas, valentine's day and my birthday, since from what i can tell they are PRICEY).