cotton fabric for tees

Hello Crafty People,

I want to create a tee shirt line a la urban outfitters graphics. I'm a graphic designer with no clue how to purchase nice cotton good quality fabric. I keep researching, but i get all this thick cotton with patterns. I want something white, creme color, off white. A simple 100 cotton fabric or organic cotton. Do you kow where i could purchase this material?

Do you recommend a place where to buy a sewing machine at a low price?

thanks so much. I

2. # ADS

moving this to 'share a craft' so this matter will get the attention of those in the know.

cheers!

you can get both those things at Jo-Ann, but if you want to sew t-shirts, you're better off with a serger than a sewing machine.

Viviana, how much do you want to purchase? I seem to remember that there's a national cotton board or something like that. I know there's an office here in Los Angeles with samples of cotton fabrics available to the clothing industry. There just may be the same deal in Chicago. I think you have a large minimum to purchase, however.

thank you guys

thanks for your input. I really appreciate it. I'm looking to buy a lot fabric. I was looking for wholesale cotton fabric. I want to design some proto-types. I don't know if i should do it myself or hire someone to cut and sew my tee idea. I was thinking of placing an ad here. I want to give it a try myself. I keep searching online for cotton fabric wholesale, and i get these far places abroad, which i'm not that sure.

I'm a newbie on buying a sewing machine. I was playing around with my aunts and she gave me a quicky demo. I'm was like, hmm, i think i could do this.

"you can get both those things at Jo-Ann, but if you want to sew t-shirts, you're better off with a serger than a sewing machine." Stella

You know where is the best place to buy a serger? Why a Serger? sorry for all these ques. thanks so much

tata.