Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

hi I'm a newbie...need help please with knitting! :)

I dream one day of making a nice warm fuzzy scarfs or nice socks :)
    I'm just a begginer at knitting, would anyone have any tips for a newbie like me?
    Any certain yarn i should use?
    Needles are easy it says right in every book, but the right yarn is not easy to find!
    Any suggestions or tips for knitting would be great!
    i would really appreciate as many suggestions/tips as possible!

P,S. i know how to croche, is knitting similar to that??
    it looks harder than crocheing,
    does anyone know of any helpful books i can buy? or magazines?

thanks so much in advance!

Jane.

2. # ADS

Yay, new knitter! Yes knitting is similar to crochet in there is just loops through loops, and different in that most knitting involves less wrapping and looping than crochet.

I like Elizabeth Zimmerman's "Knitting without Tears" for simple patterns, but left handed knitters should ignore what she says about knitting left handed.

Some nice online videos are here:
    http://www.knittinghelp.com/knitting/basic_techniques/

(Try both continental and english style knitting, and go with which ever one is more comfortable-- there's nothing that you can do with one that you can't do with the other.)

Yarns are loosely classified into "weights" by diameter-- bulky, worsted, dk, sock, baby, lace etc. If you want to try a certain yarn with a pattern try to check the weight of the yarn you want to use compared to the weight of the yarn http://www.spinderellas.com/patterns/yarnchart.html for details on how to measure (just remember that not all yarn manufacturers agree with each other, so make swatches)

What kind of yarn you use is up to you. I think that it's best to pick a smooth yarn for learning to knit so that you can see you stitches clearly but after that whatever fits the project.