Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First Scrapbook Ever: making for a Marine

Alright, here's the skinny.
    Me and the bf have been together for 3 years but back in the summer of 2002 he went to boot camp. It was our honeymoon period and it sucked that he was gone.

We live together now and I was cleaning out our closet and found all of the letters that I and his family wrote to him in boot camp.

I've never done a scrapbook before and was wondering the best way to incorporate all of my letters, I literally wrote to him every single day.

I know he'll love and appreciate this considering he is no longer in the military.

Can any experienced or crafty gals help me?

Anonymous_Jade

2. # ADS

Do you have envelopes with the letters? If you do, incorporate them, cancelled postage and all. The folded letters could be tucked into envelopes that you've embellished with photos or drawings or maps and affixed to pages in either chronological order or according to some sort of theme.

You could also create envelopes out of interesting papers for the same purpose.

Selected phrases or key concepts could be photo enlarged or just copied out in calligraphy or whatever for those pages.

I remember an old book called.. Hm.. '*Something* and Sabine..' It was about these 2 strangers who had a relationship through written correspondence. The entire book was comprised of physical letters and postcards, quite attractive and romantic. I think the book went on as a series. I think it's a great idea for your scrapbook, and I'm sure one of the ladies here on Get Crafty can come up with the actual book title, it was pretty big when it was pubished. (I'm such a space cadet sometimes.)

Griffin and Sabine. You usually can find a copy on eBay or amazon. There's a trilogy, but I only read the first one maybe ten years ago.