Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hippie Patchwork Dresses

Hi! I love these hippie patchwork dresses by Piece by Piece: http://www.peace-by-piece.com/dresses/index.html and Calico Forest: http://www.calicoforest.com/dresses.htm.htm They're so beautiful!

But how do I make them??

Alas, I can't find any patterns on the web. I've looked for hours and hours. I'm petite: 5' tall and 95 lbs, so I'd rather make a dress than buy one so it fits.

There doesn't seem to be any patterns out there. I'll even modify a similar pattern if I have to. I'm a beginner sewer and I'd done a little bit of patchwork. But where do I find a pattern(s) that is similar and how do I alter it?

If anybody can give me any clues or leads, I would be so grateful! Thanks!

2. # ADS

Hi, I am new also but I make tops and dresses like this for myself. Try the tutorial below and just extend it to make it a dress. That is the closest and most simple one that I can find, and the one that I based all of my stuff off of. Good luck!

http://www.craftster.org/pictures/sh...sort=1&cat=all

Oops! I got an error when clicking on your link.

These dresses were very vogue in the 70's when I was a teenager, you might try some vintage pattern sites.

~Debikay

I hope this isn''t too late to reply:

I have made dozens of these dresses and shirts. The thing to remember is that they''re all rectangles. Especially if you do the basic flat/straight neckline, each piece is a patchwork rectangle. I used to do some sketches on graph paper with colored pencils, then sewed the panels. Just think of the bust as a rectangle, the skirt part as a Huge rectangle, and then the straps as 2 small ones. If you really like the "shoelace" look up the back, then just cut the bust section in 1/2, then lace up the back. Note: if you do patchwork on the bust section, especially if you use corduroy, you may want to put in a lining, as there is a tend to chafe...

I hope this helps. Let me know if you have any further questions.

Good luck!