Just got a sewing machine... now what?

Hi All,

I haven't posted in a long time, but when I received my first sewing machine for Christmas and wanted some advice, I knew exactly where to go!

I'm not new to crafting, but I've never used a sewing machine before, so I'm looking for advice on a simple first project. I was thinking of making a quilt (using the already made quilting squares from Jo-Ann's or something) for my friend's baby, but I wasn't sure how complicated that would be.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance!
    *r

2. # ADS

i would recommend something even simpler and smaller to start with-- like a pillow case, just to get the hang of your machine without spending a ton of money on quilt squares, batting, backing etc.

the pillow case tutorial at
    super eggplant is great. I also recommend her totebag tutorial-- that is the first thing I made when i got my sewing machine!

i found that taking a class was a great way to get comfortable with my machine, so if there is a sewing studio or workshop near you, i'd say check out their classes and see if anything appeals to you!

Not to say quilts are hard or a bad idea, I just think it is more satisfying to start out with one or two smaller projects!

I do agree with Nancy that it's more satisfying to make something that you can start and finish quickly. Even the quickest quilts usually take some time.

If you wanted to make a blanket for your friend's baby, make a quick one. Here's what I do: