Question for paper makers

I destroy books for a living. I cut them apart to make buttons and pocket mirrors etc. But then I have a bunch of stuff left over and I hate wasting, so I've been trying to use more of the leftover parts in other projects.

I'm starting to cut the covers and pages down to make some spiral bound books. But then there are still lots of little scraps of paper left over.

So, here's the question:
    Can I use this paper to make handmade paper? I mean some of it's pretty old and has that musty old-book smell. And a lot of it is very yellowed, so I'm thinking maybe it's not acid free. I don't want to go through the trouble of making paper if it's not going to be acid free. I'm also concerned that the musty smell might mean it's a little moldy or something.

What do you think?

And is there something I can add to the slurry (is that the right word?) that would make it acid-free and/or kill the mold? (if there is indeed mold)

2. # ADS

ChristineRenee, I just got a book out of the library on papermaking that included information on how to deal with this. I'll look it up and post back here later. :)

paper making

I work in a library and am constantly looking for uses for old discarded books! Yes!, I make paper with the old pages, and yes not all are acid free and sometimes the paper comes out yellow. The "bad" pages i cut into slices and give them out as bookmarks, they are very popular with the patrons. Some of the paper comes out pretty well... I like to add some larger scraps at the end of blending the pulp up, it looks really cool to be able to distinguish some of the letters and words on the paper.
    Good Luck! There are many uses for old books besides the trash bin!

That's encouraging, azpines! (And I'm glad to hear that all those discarded library books aren't going to waste.) Now I'm excited to give this a try.

Artgeek, I would love to hear what the book has to say on the subject. Thanks!