Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By sisteroo

Thread: DIY Craft Paper Wall Art

DIY Craft Paper Wall Art

Picture at: http://www.sisteroo.com/2011/08/diy-paper-art.html

Empty black frames--I've had four of them hanging in my kitchen for the past few months. Some people may consider them to be a statement of sorts, but in our household it means I've been too preoccupied to bother filling them and they hang on the wall just daring me to be artistic. It got to the point where I considered having Actress's daughter fill the frames with her butterflies and princess scribbles. Rather than make a four year old labor for my walls, I decided that I could use the paper pretties project as a way to force myself to decorate. As I'm not an artist, I did some simple paper art, with a silhouette design.

Tutorial picture at: http://www.sisteroo.com/2011/08/diy-paper-art.html

Steps to simple art:

1) Go to the craft store and pick up some scrapbooking paper that matches your color scheme.

2) Trace your paper to size (you can begin cutting now if you want--I just waited until I finalized my designs).

3) Start designing! I cut out leaves from one sheet of craft paper to make flowers on another.

4) Make a mess and make a few mistakes. My mistakes you ask? The black flower started out as a vine, but I ended up deciding that looked odd and made the leaves into a flower. I attempted to make a really odd wave pattern, tracing the tail of the skunk (seen in picture 1). And...it looked awful. But I'm a shrink, remember? Mistakes are good. Mistakes can heal us.

5) Decide on your final designs and try the paper art on different papers to see what looks best. Glue it all together.

6) Admire your work!

As an additional little art piece, here's a quick tip to spruce up a wall when you're on a budget: canvas art.

Picture at: http://www.sisteroo.com/2011/08/diy-paper-art.html